August 6, 2020

The Board of Brown County Commissioners met in special session with the following members present: Chairman Dwight A. Kruse and Keith Olsen. Richard Lehmkhul was absent. Also present was Brown County IT Director, Sandy Carter. Chairman Kruse opened the meeting at 8:00 a.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

MINUTES

Motion by Keith Olsen to allow Sandy Carter to take minutes. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried.

COVID-19

Don Pounds, Brown County Emergency Manager and Jeremy Forkenbrock, joined the meeting via Zoom. Don Pounds updated the commissioners on the SPARK committee and answered questions from the commissioners. Don explained that Phase 2 and 3 of the SPARK funds would go to the State and Brown County would not be receiving any of those funds. Don also recommended that the County have signed agreements with those requesting Direct Aid funds so that the responsibility of meeting the Direct Aid spending requirements would be with those requesting the funds. He also recommended that county departments be exempt from signing an agreement.

SPARK

Motion by Keith Olsen to recommend reimbursement from Brown County SPARK to Brown County Emergency Management for \$4,748.68 for PPE, ZOOM account, gauze pads, and a cart for PPE. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried.

Motion by Keith Olsen to recommend reimbursement from Brown County SPARK to Brown County Services for the Elderly for \$254.02 for disinfecting supplies and PPE. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried.

Motion by Keith Olsen to recommend reimbursement from Brown County SPARK to KANZA Mental Health for \$3,692.52 for disinfecting supplies, PPE and IR thermometers. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried.

Motion by Keith Olsen to have signed agreements with all those requesting Direct Aid funds, excluding county departments, from the Brown County SPARK fund. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried.

Motion by Keith Olsen to adjourn. Seconded by Dwight Kruse. Motion carried. The meeting adjourned at 8:34 a.m. The next regular meeting will be held on Monday, August 10, 2020.

ATTEST:

APPROVED BY:

MELISSA GORMLEY, COUNTY CLERK

DWIGHT A. KRUSE, CHAIRMAN

KEITH OLSEN, MEMBER

RICHARD L. LEHMKUHL, MEMBER