May 31, 2006

The Board of Brown County Commissioners met in regular session with the following members present: Chairman Warren Ploeger, Glen Leitch and Steve Roberts. Also present were County Clerk Debbie Parker and Deputy County Clerk Marla Hathhorn. Assistant County Attorney Don Cashman was present for a portion of the meeting.

Warren Ploeger opened the meeting at 8:00 a.m.

PAYMENT OF CLAIMS

The Commissioners and Assistant County Attorney Don Cashman approved the following claims:

001 General	62,972.99
103 Road & Bridge	92,746.28
121 Health	11,576.25
123 Historical Society	1,041.66
125 Employee Benefit	128.25
127 Election	314.28
129 Extension	6,250.00
131 Mental Health	29,166.70
133 Mental Retardation	2,254.33
135 Capital Improve Fund	17,767.75
143 Appraiser	5,720.58
145 Ambulance	6,666.66
147 Noxious Weed	1,452.27
148 JAI	1,642.39
150 JCAB	2,270.84
151 Alcohol	3,686.70
152 Sheriff Drug Forfeiture	2,412.74
155 Diversion	2,360.00
157 911 Fund	20,503.94
158 Attorney Drug Forfeiture	872.25
165 ACC	1,324.60
201 Services for Elderly	5,036.11
211 Solid Waste	35,133.03
909 Payroll	43,569.20
915 Court Trustee	1,259.19
Total	358,128.99

PAYROLL

The May 24, 2006 payroll was approved as follows:

General	\$42,953.90
Road & Bridge	10,598.73
Election	205.77
Appraiser	2,712.00
Noxious Weed	955.37

JCAB	7,137.23
Diversion	728.00
JJ Prevention	516.72
ACC	5,294.54
Services for Elderly	2,634.83
Solid Waste	2,299.78
Court Trustee	4,355.69
Special MVT	5,542.60
Employer Ben FICA	4,862.56
Employer Ben KPERS	2,734.08
County Share Insurance	29,366.85
Employee Ben JCAB WC & SU	-3.42
TOTAL	\$122,895.23

LELA SMITH

District Court Clerk Lela Smith suggested a graduated increase in juror fees, as the Commissioners are in charge of setting the fees according to a new law. The Commissioners will inform Smith when the decision is made.

JCAB/ACC

JCAB/ACC Director Venice Sloan presented a Federal block grant application for transportation funds. Motion by Glen Leitch to approve and sign the grant application. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried.

CARPET PLUS

Motion by Steve Roberts to accept two carpeting bids from Carpet Plus: \$579.48 which will carpet the new Election Room and \$361.31 which will carpet the Commissioners room. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion by Warren Ploeger for a 15-minute Executive Session with the Road Foremen Herb Roland, Richard Geiger and Mel Werner, and the three Commissioners present. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried. Closed 8:10 a.m. Opened 8:25 a.m. No binding action was taken.

SHERIFF

Sheriff Lamar Shoemaker discussed the day-long Homeland Security meeting which he attended last week. Shoemaker stated that a disaster plan should be in effect previous to any problems and questioned whether the disaster plan was on file in the County Clerk's Office. County Clerk Debbie Parker stated that no disaster plan is on file to her knowledge. Also discussed was the jail roof work which was started last week.

ROY CLAYCAMP

Roy Claycamp, who is a candidate for Kansas State Representative, discussed the Satellite Election bill, which was vetoed by the Governor. The bill would have allowed early voting in designated precincts. Other legislative issues were also discussed.

MINUTES

Motion by Warren Ploeger to approve the May 22, 2006 minutes. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried.

CD BID OPENING

Treasurer Cheryl Lippold was present for a \$200,000 CD currently held at Morrill & Janes Bank. The bids were as follows: Citizens State Bank with a bid of 3.50% for 180 days and a bid of 3.50% for 365 days; Hiawatha National Bank with a bid of 3.85% for 180 days and a bid of 4.25% for 365 days; Morrill & Janes Bank with a bid of 5.28% for 180 days and a bid of 5.43% for 365 days; Silver Lake Bank with a bid of 5.05% for 180 days and a bid of 5.15% for 365 days; and Union State Bank with a bid of 5.28% for 365 days.

Motion by Glen Leitch to accept the Morrill & Janes Bank bid of 5.43% for 365 days. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion by Warren Ploeger for a 30-minute Executive Session on land acquisition with the three Commissioners, RDA Representatives Virginia Dienstbier, Gary Edelman, Bob Scoby, Matt Crouse, Wayne Grimm, Roy Claycamp, and County Clerk Debbie Parker present. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried. Closed 10:30 a.m. Opened 11:00 a.m. Motion by Warren to continue the Executive Session on land acquisition for 30 minutes with everyone with the previous Executive Session present. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Closed 11:00 a.m. Opened 11:30 am. No binding action was taken.

Motion to adjourn by Steve Roberts. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried, meeting adjourned at 12:00 p.m. The next meeting will be held Monday June 5, 2006.