January 10, 2005

OFFICE OF COUNTY CLERK

January 10, 2005

The Board of Brown County Commissioners met in regular session with the following members present: Chairman Glen Leitch, Warren Ploeger and Steve Roberts. Also present was County Clerk Debbie Parker and Deputy County Clerk Marla Hathhorn. County Attorney Kevin Hill was present for a portion of the meeting. Glen Leitch opened the meeting at 8:00 a.m.

SHERIFF/APPRAISER

Sheriff Lamar Shoemaker, discussed purchasing a stun tazer for the jail. Also discussed was a radio malfunction; the radio backup system worked properly.

PAYROLL

The January 10, 2005 payroll was approved as follows:

TOTAL	\$80,286.87
Employee Ben KPERS	2,149.56
Employee Ben FICA	4,870.42
Court Trustee	4,503.25
Solid Waste	1,839.34
Services for Elderly	2,294.83
ACC	4,291.27
Diversion	320.00
JCAB	5,142.75
Noxious Weed	982.08
Appraiser	2,592.00
Election	1,069.77
Road & Bridge	9,566.38
General	\$40,665.22

MOTION CORRECTION

Motion by Warren Ploeger to correct a motion made during the January 3, 2005 meeting, concerning Brown County Employee raises. The correction gives part-time ACC/JCAB employees a 25-cent per hour raise, not the 50-cent per hour raise stated in the previous motion. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried.

MINUTES

Motion by Steve Roberts to approve the minutes of the January 3, 2005 meeting. Seconded by Warren Ploeger. Motion carried.

RESOURCE COORDINATOR

Venice Sloan, JCAB Director, introduced the new Resource Coordinator Carolyn Jordan. The position will be paid by grant money, through Brown County as contract labor. Sloan also discussed the One Stop Shop being set up by the Northeast Kansas Resource Coalition, will direct people to needed services.

SOLID WASTE FEES

Motion by Warren Ploeger to increase the Solid Waste Fees as follows: Out of County fees will be \$37 per ton; In County fees will be \$33 per ton; Construction & Demolition will be \$17 per ton, with the increases becoming effective January 17, 2005. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Motion by Warren Ploeger for a five minute Executive Session on non-elected personnel with the three Commissioners, County Treasurer Cheryl Lippold, County Clerk Debbie Parker and County Attorney Kevin Hill present. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried. Closed 9:50 a.m. Opened 9:55 a.m. No binding action was taken.

SWEARING IN OF ELECTED OFFICIALS

District Magistrate Judge John Weingart held a swearing-in ceremony for the following officials elected in the November 2, 2004 General Election: Sheriff Lamar Shoemaker, County Attorney Kevin Hill, County Clerk Debbie Parker, County Treasurer Cheryl Lippold, Register of Deeds Sandy Carter, County Commissioner District 2 Glen Leitch and County Commissioner District 3 Warren Ploeger.

RESOLUTION #05-01

Motion by Steve Roberts to approve Resolution #05-01, appointing Warren Ploeger as the 2005 Commission Chairman. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried. Chairman Ploeger assumed the duties of Commission Chairman at this point in the meeting.

RESOLUTION #05-02

Motion by Glen Leitch to approve Resolution #05-02, designating the official banks for 2005. Seconded by Steve Roberts. Motion carried.

Motion by Steve Roberts to adjourn. Seconded by Glen Leitch. Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m. The next meeting will be held Tuesday January 18, 2005.